Greylist service in "CRITICAL" state and queues fi

Generic questions on MailCleaner usage. Please check if your question cannot find a more specific topic below before posting here !<br>
This section is now READ ONLY, please choose the section below that fit your question !

Moderators: FlorianB, Pascal, bourgeois, mentor

User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

Greylist service in "CRITICAL" state and queues fi

Postby jeff » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:57 pm

I have a clustered version of MailCleaner running in a test environment.

I recently changed a DNS setting and the system got bombarded with spam (going from 600msg a day to over 10000 in a couple hours).

The Greylist service states that it is in a "CRITICAL" state (I'm assuming this means it isn't running).

The queues, mainly the filtering queue, has several thousand e-mails waiting to be processed.

Any ideas why the system would react this way?

Please advise.
:?:
Thanks,
Jeff
olivier
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Postby olivier » Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:12 pm

try restarting the greylist service.
this may be the reason whi you are getting so much mails.

But keep in mind that greylisting is not a real solution.
User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

Tried that...

Postby jeff » Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:48 pm

I have tried rebooting and restarting the greylist service, however, nothing seems to make a difference.

If you want to see a log, just let me know what log you want to see and I'll e-mail it to you.

Thanks, in advance.

Jeff
Thanks,

Jeff
User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

Here is a view of the status screen...

Postby jeff » Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:57 pm

Here is a pic of the status screen.

http://www.the-internet-guy.com/smtp1.i ... il.com.png

As you can see, the greylist services are stopped.

Any ideas?
Thanks,

Jeff
olivier
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Postby olivier » Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:54 am

for the greylisting, first check it has been correctly installed:

Code: Select all

 > aptitude install mc-greylistd

and try to start it manually:

Code: Select all

 > /usr/mailcleaner/etc/init.d/greylistd start


I see your system is getting overloaded because it doesn't have enough memory.
512MB is definitively not enough for a production system. It is actually swapping and the gets too high. That's why you can't process messages fast enough.
User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

Tried this...

Postby jeff » Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:53 pm

I tried to start the greylistd process manually and it still failed.
I looked at the /var/mailcleaner/run/greylistd directory, and from another post, found that the file 'socket' was there, even when the service was not running.
I removed the 'socket' file and the process started.

The environment is still in 'test' mode, due to problems like I have had, however, your point of "512Mb of memory is not enough for a production server" is valid.

I am going to see if I can 'scrounge' an extra 512Mb for each of the two systems that are running.

Q: What does the red (*) mean next to a service?

If I restart the service, it goes away. But, I'm wondering if that means it's status is unknown or not?!?

Please advise.
Thanks,

Jeff
olivier
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Postby olivier » Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:55 pm

it means that the service needs to be restarted. That's it :)
User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

OK... but...

Postby jeff » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:02 pm

If the system knows the service should be restarted, why doesn't it do this auto-magically?

:wink:
Thanks,

Jeff
olivier
Posts: 1348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Contact:

Postby olivier » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:16 pm

because you may want to test a new configuration on one host before it gets actually propagated to all slaves.
Morover some process may take some time to restart. Doing so on every change would be quite expensive.
So we took the decision to let the admin knows what he restart, and when :wink:
User avatar
jeff
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Contact:

Ah... I see.

Postby jeff » Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:36 pm

Okay. That makes sense.
Thanks,

Jeff

Return to “General help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests