How to integrate MC in exchange?

Problems/questions regarding the MailCleaner configuration

Moderators: Pascal, mentor, FlorianB, bourgeois

kranzfr3d
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:16 pm
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: informing

How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby kranzfr3d » Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:56 pm

Hi,

I'm new to MC, so I have a very basic setup behind me.
I have a couple of MS Server 2016 with AD and an exchange 2016.
All VMs are running on an ESXI 6.5.

The MC is set up with my maildomain (address verfication and users authentification works) and I hit a checkbox here and there.
But my main questions are:
Does mailcleaner already filter my mails? (My exchange is not "hot" yet, I couldn't test it for now.) What else should I set-up?
Where do I redirect the NAT/firewall ports? To MC or Exchange?
Should I move MC into a DMZ?
How do I change the hostname, vmWare says the hostname is "mailcleaner"? I used an OVA to create the vm.

If you need more specific information, I will deliver it as soon as possible.
I hope you take my questions seriously and do not laugh at me :cry:


gr33tz
nightbird
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:57 am
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: Google
Location: France

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby nightbird » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:22 am

Hi gr33tz,

Your MC should be in a DMZ with PAT(Port address Translation) redirecting to it. Your exchange, in your FW config, should only "talk" with the MC, both for incoming and outgoing smtp traffic(ActivSync and OWA redirection should stay on the exchange). The hostname of the VM is just a common name, you can change it in the Vsphere client without impacting the guest OS.

Regards

Night
kranzfr3d
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:16 pm
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: informing

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby kranzfr3d » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:17 pm

Hello nightbird,

thanks for your great answer.
I cannot explain me to you, that's why I painted you something see attachment of this post :D
Is this the right configuration? My new questions:
Which Ports do I forward to MC? I have not found them to configure into webportal :cry:

How can I configure the outgoing connector to "talkonly" to MC the best way? The following options I can choose are: user-defined, internal, internet, partner

And the last thing:
The name of the MX is not "mailcleaner", the hostname is it, I give you a screenshot, too.
Thats why we have to change it into shell, I think.


But we're close to the goal :idea:
Attachments
esxi.png
esxi.png (24.55 KiB) Viewed 845 times
exch.png
exch.png (10.58 KiB) Viewed 845 times
nightbird
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:57 am
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: Google
Location: France

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby nightbird » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:50 am

Hi,

Do you have multiple public address or only one ?

Regards

Night
kranzfr3d
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:16 pm
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: informing

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby kranzfr3d » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:26 pm

Hello,

I've one public adress.


gr33tz
kranzfr3d
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:16 pm
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: informing

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby kranzfr3d » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:54 pm

Hello,

*bump*.
I got the debian-changing hostname for my own:

Code: Select all

sudo hostnamectl set-hostname newHostname
sudo vi /etc/hostname
sudo vi /etc/hosts
sudo shutdown -r now OR sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart



gr33tz
kranzfr3d
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:16 pm
How did you hear about Mailcleaner: informing

Re: How to integrate MC in exchange?

Postby kranzfr3d » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:30 pm

Hi,

thanks for your food for thought, my config is now live with this simplified sketch see attachment.


gr33tz
Attachments
Unbenannt.png
Unbenannt.png (8.13 KiB) Viewed 586 times

Return to “Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests